Shakib to lead Tigers in ODI after two years


Bangladesh ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will lead the team in the first match against hosts Ireland on Friday in the Tri-nation series as the regular captain Mashrafe is serving one-match ban, imposed by the ICC.

The match will begin at 3:45pm (Bangladesh time).

The Tigers captain Mashrafe Bin Moratza is missing the first match of the series as he was suspended for one ODI match due to a slow over-rate during the third ODI against Sri Lanka in Colombo in early April.

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will lead the Tigers in the opening match according to the decision of Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) taken on May 8.

After six years, the Tigers are going to face Ireland in the format as both the sides played each other last in 2011 in the ICC World Cup where Bangladesh registered a 27-run win at Sher-e-Bangla National cricket Stadium.

In their previous seven ODI meetings, since April 2007, Bangladesh secured five victories while Ireland registered two.

Bangladesh will play Ireland again in the series at Malahide in Dublin on May 19. In their remaining matches, Bangladesh will face New Zealand twice at Clontarf Cricket Club Ground, Dublin on May 17 and 24.

The tourists will be eager to warm-up well ahead of the all-important ICC Champions Trophy 2017 in England and Wales in June. On the other hand, the Irish will fight hard to lift their ODI form to get Test status approval from ICC.

Bangladesh squad: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan (stand by captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mosaddek Hossain,

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman, Nurul Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Subashis Roy, Sunzamul Islam and Taskin Ahmed

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (captain), Andy Balbirnie, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson and Craig Young.